At the top of the building I sit and stare,

The vast horizon disappears to nowhere,

The skyscrapers like the trees sprout from the ground,

Why to this place are these things bound?

 

The sparrow flies free high overhead,

Why is the ginger kitten unable to soar in its stead?

It’s not fair.

Must not despair.

 

Helium rises to infinity and beyond,

Yet gravity keeps me here: an earthly prison bond.

 

The blue ocean, is it really there?

I can hear its life in motion, but could that also be a delusion?

What more I shall not want than life’s mystery conclusion.

 

Perceiving my surroundings, I admire its beauty,

Do I have a reason here, or is the physical state my only duty?

 

Leave a Reply

